top of page
Search

Going the Distance - Scamp - Deborah, Florida

Usually we only work with pet parents in North Carolina but when Scamp's Mama contacted us and just could not find anyone in her area to help, we could not say no!

Here is Scamp's story and recovery as written by his dedicated Mama, so HAPPY he's HOME SAFE!!


"Scamp, my 2 1/2 year old indoor-only cat, was lost outside on the night of October 18. Although I was close to discouragement at times, I never gave up looking for him or lost hope of finding him. Then on November 23, five weeks and one day after he was lost, I found him! He walked into the trap I finally set in the right place, behind my next door neighbor's home. He was probably hiding there the entire time. Never give up hope!

During this time, Erin of K9's on Call was a valuable help and support for me. I found Erin a couple of weeks into my search when I started to look up pet detectives. Through Erin I learned about trail cameras and how to use them. Erin also related the story of a cat she rescued and adopted, which gave me renewed hope.

But those weeks Scamp was lost were nerve-wracking. During the first week, I read all I could find from reliable writers about timid, lost, indoor cats and where they would hide. At night, I set a trap by my home, then sat in my car, waiting and watching. Then I'd get out and go looking for Scamp under buildings and bushes. But I didn't see him, only my many outdoor cats. One night I trapped one of them and another night, an opossum. But no Scamp. And I'd think to myself: Scamp, where are you? In the second week, I bought the trail camera and set it on and then under my porch at night. But I did not get pictures of Scamp, only of my outdoor cats, and a raccoon, and the opossum.

Yet I kept looking. Scamp was on my mind all the time. I had to find him.

Then on November 16, I saw him eating under my porch as I fed dinner to the outdoor cats. I was sure it was him! I recognized him by his eyes. Immediately I backed away so I wouldn't frighten him. Then after a few minutes, he ran behind my neighbor's home. That's where I should set the trap, I realized. And I did, and that night he walked into it. Home at last! It was a blessed day and week for us, Thanksgiving week!

‪Concluding Scamp's story: So thank you, Erin. You were a great help. I highly recommend you as a pet detective. Please use Scamp's story to give others hope.

-Deborah, Florida (Scamp before lost, top, and then in the trap)"

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page